Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve been fired as a customer of T-Mobile.

Well, this needs expounding. T-Mobile does not want my business with one phone line. They do not want my business on one cell account – apparently, I made the Extended Roamer List. T-Mobile offered a plan, that I subscribed too, that allowed free roaming.

I’ve enjoyed being a customer of T-Mobile. They had good coverage and their customer service was always good. Until now.

So my question is, at what point should a company fire a customer? Here’s how I figure things could have gone. If I was becoming too costly as a customer, why not give me a ring or send me a letter/email, saying so? T-Mobile, you could have contacted me with this:

Dear Mr. Kingman:

Your cell use of our system has recently incurred other network charges for roaming in excess of our threshold on this plan. We’d like to present two options:

Option 1 – you can remain a T-Mobile customer by paying $XX to cover the increased costs we’ve incurred due to your roaming over the past sixty days.

Option 2 – we can discontinue our relationship and allow you to take your number and exit the agreement without penalties.

Instead, I got a letter from T-Mobile that they were firing me. No recourse available. I called – they said there was no option to remain a customer. I argued – they said there was no option to remain a customer. They gave me an email to an ombudsman – it bounced.

When companies talk the talk of wanting to build a lifetime relationship, and then don’t walk the talk, in my humble opinion – that’s bad policy. I’m trying to understand this, T-Mobile, and so far, none of your Customer Service Reps, even those in the Extended Roamer “No Fly” List Department, have been able to explain the rationale.

In any event, AT&T just got a new relationship. And, their coverage includes my home.

